Author: Stefan Bachmann

October 2016 in Review

Posted October 31, 2016 in Celiac, Life, Reading / 6 Comments

October 2016 in Review

Things that Happened in October

  • First of all, is October really over already!! Where did October go?
  • I had my first really bad glutening in quite some time yesterday. It was terrible. People have also been questioning my food choices which prompted this Twitter thread.
  • As I am working on this, I have such a terrible headache that I hope this manages to look half-way decent when it posts.
  • Grad school has been exhausting me on top of teaching and everything else I do.
  • I just started a Facebook page for the blog but there isn’t a whole lot there yet.
  • I didn’t get as much read as I should have this month. I am falling behind on grad school reading and ARCs.

My Favorite Book of October

Three Dark Crowns

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Read More

Tagged as

A Sci-Fi-esque, Historical-esque YA Thriller – A Drop of Night {Review}

Posted October 15, 2016 in Reading, Review / 0 Comments

A Sci-Fi-esque, Historical-esque YA Thriller – A Drop of Night {Review}A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann
Publisher: Greenwillow Books (2016)
Hardcover (439 pages)
Rating:
Reading Challenges: Read 2016

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Anouk has finally caught the break she’s been looking for—she's been selected out of hundreds of other candidates to fly to France and help with the excavation of a vast, underground palace buried a hundred feet below the suburbs of Paris. Built in the 1780's to hide an aristocratic family and a mad duke during the French Revolution, the palace has lain hidden and forgotten ever since. Anouk, along with several other gifted teenagers, will be the first to set foot in it in over two centuries.
Or so she thought.
But nothing is as it seems, and the teens soon find themselves embroiled in a game far more sinister, and dangerous, than they could possibly have imagined. An evil spanning centuries is waiting for them in the depths. . .
A genre-bending thriller from Stefan Bachmann for fans of
The Maze Runner and Joss Whedon’s The Cabin in the Woods.
You cannot escape the palace.
You cannot guess its secrets.

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon, Book Depository

Read More

Tagged as ,

August 2016 in Review

Posted September 5, 2016 in Life, Reading / 4 Comments

August 2016 in Review

Things that Happened in August

  • I arrived home after World Youth Day! It was an amazing experience but it is always good to come home.
  • After arriving home, I read five books in four days. I hadn’t read any novels in the three weeks I was gone and I must have been making up for lost time.
  • The weather here is kind of crazy. It is really smoky with all the forest fires around. Some days I won’t even open the windows because the smoke is hanging so thick in the air.
  • School started for my students last week. It is good to be back, even if it is completely crazy (as the beginning of every school year is).
  • My grad classes started a week ago. I am a bit overwhelmed right not and it is strange to think of myself as a student again. It has been quite a few years.

My Favorite Book of August

Rebel of the Sands

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

Read More

Tagged as , ,