Category: Review

Biblical Fiction from the Time of the Prophets – Isaiah’s Daughter {Review}

Posted December 26, 2017 in Reading, Review / 0 Comments

Biblical Fiction from the Time of the Prophets – Isaiah’s Daughter {Review}Isaiah's Daughter by Mesu Andrews
Series: Prophets and Kings #1
Publisher: WaterBrook Press (January 2018)
Paperback ARC (384 pages)
Via: Blogging for Books
Rating:
Also by this author: The Pharaoh's Daughter, Miriam

Synopsis

In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bible miniseries, a young woman taken into the prophet Isaiah's household rises to capture the heart of the future king.
Isaiah adopts Ishma, giving her a new name--Zibah, delight of the Lord--thereby ensuring her royal pedigree. Ishma came to the prophet's home, devastated after watching her family destroyed and living as a captive. But as the years pass, Zibah's lively spirit wins Prince Hezekiah's favor, a boy determined to rebuild the kingdom his father has nearly destroyed. But loving this man will awake in her all the fears and pain of her past and she must turn to the only One who can give life, calm her fears, and deliver a nation.

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon, Book Depository

Read More

Tagged as , ,

Mother Teresa and the Works of Mercy – A Call to Mercy {Review}

Posted October 25, 2017 in Faith, Review / 0 Comments

Mother Teresa and the Works of Mercy – A Call to Mercy {Review}A Call to Mercy by Mother Teresa
Publisher: Image (2016)
Hardcover (384 pages)
Via: Blogging for Books
Rating:

Synopsis

Published to coincide with Pope Francis's Year of Mercy and the Vatican's canonization of Mother Teresa, this new book of unpublished material by a humble yet remarkable woman of faith whose influence is felt as deeply today as it was when she was alive, offers Mother Teresa’s profound yet accessible wisdom on how we can show mercy and compassion in our day-to-day lives.
For millions of people from all walks of life, Mother Teresa's canonization is providentially taking place during Pope Francis's Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy. This is entirely fitting since she is seen both inside and outside of the Church as an icon of God's mercy to those in need.
Compiled and edited by Brian Kolodiejckuk, M.C., the postulator of Mother Teresa’s cause for sainthood, A Call to Mercy presents deep yet accessible wisdom on how we can show compassion in our everyday lives. In her own words, Mother Teresa discusses such topics
as:
the need for us to visit the sick and the imprisoned
the importance of honoring the dead and informing the ignorant
the necessity to bear our burdens patiently and forgive willingly
the purpose to feed the poor and pray for all
the greatness of creating a “civilization of love” through personal service to others
Featuring never before published testimonials by people close to Mother Teresa as well as prayers and suggestions for putting these ideas into practice, A Call to Mercy is not only a lovely keepsake, but a living testament to the teachings of a saint whose ideas are important, relevant and very necessary in the 21st century.

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon

Read More

Tagged as ,

The End of a Trilogy – The Black Key {Review}

Posted May 8, 2017 in Reading, Review / 0 Comments

The End of a Trilogy – The Black Key {Review}The Black Key by Amy Ewing
Series: The Lone City #3
Publisher: HarperTeen (2016)
Audiobook
{8 hours and 9 minutes} (295 pages)
Rating:
Also by this author: The Jewel, The White Rose
Also in this series: The Jewel, The White Rose
Reading Challenges: Read 2016

Synopsis

For too long, Violet and the people of the outer circles of the Lone City have lived in service to the royalty of the Jewel. But now the secret society known as the Black Key is preparing to seize power.
And while Violet knows she is at the center of this rebellion, she has a more personal stake in it—her sister, Hazel, has been taken by the Duchess of the Lake. Now, after fighting so hard to escape the Jewel, Violet must do everything in her power to return to save not only Hazel, but the future of the Lone City.

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon, Book Depository

Read More

Tagged as ,

A Sweet Christian Romance – Once Upon a Prince {Review}

Posted May 1, 2017 in Reading, Review / 0 Comments

A Sweet Christian Romance – Once Upon a Prince {Review}Once Upon a Prince by Rachel Hauck
Series: Royal Wedding #1
Publisher: Zondervan (2013)
Audiobook
{10 hours} (343 pages)
Rating:
Reading Challenges: 2016 Re-Reading, 2016 Royal Challenge, Read 2016

Synopsis

Once Upon a Prince, the first novel in the Royal Wedding series by bestselling author Rachel Hauck, treats you to a modern-day fairy tale.
Susanna Truitt never dreamed of a great romance or being treated like a princess---just to marry the man she has loved for twelve years. But life isn't going according to plan. When her high-school-sweetheart-turned-Marine-officer breaks up instead of proposing, Susanna scrambles to rebuild her life.
The last thing Prince Nathaniel expects to find on his American holiday to St. Simon's Island is the queen of his heart. A prince has duties, and his family's tense political situation has chosen his bride for him. When Prince Nathaniel comes to Susanna's aid under the fabled Lover's Oak, he is blindsided by love.
Their lives are worlds apart. He's a royal prince. She's a nordinary girl. But everything changes when Susanna receives an invitation to Nathaniel's coronation. It's the ultimate choice. His kingdom or her heart? God's will or their own?

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon, Book Depository

Read More

Tagged as ,

Russia Folklore Retelling – The Bear and the Nightingale {Review}

Posted March 8, 2017 in Reading, Review / 0 Comments

Russia Folklore Retelling – The Bear and the Nightingale {Review}The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden
Series: The Bear and the Nightingale #1
Publisher: Del Rey (2017)
eARC (322 pages)
Via: NetGalley
Rating:
Reading Challenges: 2016 Retelling Challenge, 2016 Royal Challenge, Read 2016

Synopsis

At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn’t mind—she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse’s fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil.
After Vasilisa’s mother dies, her father goes to Moscow and brings home a new wife. Fiercely devout, city-bred, Vasilisa’s new stepmother forbids her family from honoring the household spirits. The family acquiesces, but Vasilisa is frightened, sensing that more hinges upon their rituals than anyone knows.
And indeed, crops begin to fail, evil creatures of the forest creep nearer, and misfortune stalks the village. All the while, Vasilisa’s stepmother grows ever harsher in her determination to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for either marriage or confinement in a convent.
As danger circles, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed—this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse’s most frightening tales.

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon, Book Depository

Read More

Tagged as , ,