Format: Hardcover

Wonderful Start to a New Series – Rebel of the Sands {Review}

Posted October 17, 2016 in Reading, Review / 0 Comments

Wonderful Start to a New Series – Rebel of the Sands {Review}Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
Series: Rebel of the Sands #1
Publisher: Viking Books (2016)
Hardcover (314 pages)
Rating:
Reading Challenges: Read 2016

Synopsis

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mythical beasts still roam the wild and remote areas, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinn still perform their magic. For humans, it’s an unforgiving place, especially if you’re poor, orphaned, or female.
Amani Al’Hiza is all three. She’s a gifted gunslinger with perfect aim, but she can’t shoot her way out of Dustwalk, the back-country town where she’s destined to wind up wed or dead.
Then she meets Jin, a rakish foreigner, in a shooting contest, and sees him as the perfect escape route. But though she’s spent years dreaming of leaving Dustwalk, she never imagined she’d gallop away on mythical horse—or that it would take a foreign fugitive to show her the heart of the desert she thought she knew.
Rebel of the Sands reveals what happens when a dream deferred explodes—in the fires of rebellion, of romantic passion, and the all-consuming inferno of a girl finally, at long last, embracing her power.

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon, Book Depository

Read More

Tagged as ,

A Sci-Fi-esque, Historical-esque YA Thriller – A Drop of Night {Review}

Posted October 15, 2016 in Reading, Review / 0 Comments

A Sci-Fi-esque, Historical-esque YA Thriller – A Drop of Night {Review}A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann
Publisher: Greenwillow Books (2016)
Hardcover (439 pages)
Rating:
Reading Challenges: Read 2016

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Anouk has finally caught the break she’s been looking for—she's been selected out of hundreds of other candidates to fly to France and help with the excavation of a vast, underground palace buried a hundred feet below the suburbs of Paris. Built in the 1780's to hide an aristocratic family and a mad duke during the French Revolution, the palace has lain hidden and forgotten ever since. Anouk, along with several other gifted teenagers, will be the first to set foot in it in over two centuries.
Or so she thought.
But nothing is as it seems, and the teens soon find themselves embroiled in a game far more sinister, and dangerous, than they could possibly have imagined. An evil spanning centuries is waiting for them in the depths. . .
A genre-bending thriller from Stefan Bachmann for fans of
The Maze Runner and Joss Whedon’s The Cabin in the Woods.
You cannot escape the palace.
You cannot guess its secrets.

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon, Book Depository

Read More

Tagged as ,

A Retelling with a Twist – The Shadow Queen {Review}

Posted October 13, 2016 in Reading, Review / 0 Comments

A Retelling with a Twist – The Shadow Queen {Review}The Shadow Queen by C J Redwine
Series: Ravenspire #1
Publisher: Balzer + Bray (2016)
Hardcover (387 pages)
Rating:
Reading Challenges: 2016 Retelling Challenge, 2016 Royal Challenge, Read 2016

Synopsis

Lorelai Diederich, crown princess and fugitive at large, has one mission: kill the wicked queen who took both the Ravenspire throne and the life of her father. To do that, Lorelai needs to use the one weapon she and Queen Irina have in common—magic. She’ll have to be stronger, faster, and more powerful than Irina, the most dangerous sorceress Ravenspire has ever seen.
In the neighboring kingdom of Eldr, when Prince Kol’s father and older brother are killed by an invading army of magic-wielding ogres, the second-born prince is suddenly given the responsibility of saving his kingdom. To do that, Kol needs magic—and the only way to get it is to make a deal with the queen of Ravenspire, promise to become her personal huntsman…and bring her Lorelai’s heart.
But Lorelai is nothing like Kol expected—beautiful, fierce, and unstoppable—and despite dark magic, Lorelai is drawn in by the passionate and troubled king. Fighting to stay one step ahead of the dragon huntsman—who she likes far more than she should—Lorelai does everything in her power to ruin the wicked queen. But Irina isn’t going down without a fight, and her final move may cost the princess the one thing she still has left to lose.

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon, Book Depository

Read More

Tagged as ,

Not My Cup of Tea – Fangirl {Review}

Posted October 6, 2016 in Reading, Review / 4 Comments

Not My Cup of Tea – Fangirl {Review}Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Publisher: St Martin's Griffin (2013)
Hardcover (433 pages)
Rating:
Reading Challenges: 2016 Backlist Books, Read 2016

Synopsis

CATH IS A SIMON SNOW FAN. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan... But for Cath, being a fan is her life--and she's really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it's what got them through their mother leaving.
Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fanfiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.
Cath's sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can't let go. She doesn't want to.
Now that they're going to college, Wren has told Cath that she doesn't want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She's got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend; a fiction-writing professor who thinks fanfiction is the end of the civilized world; a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words...and she can't stop worrying about her dad, who's loving and fragile and has never really been alone
For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon, Book Depository

Read More

Tagged as ,

A Russian Historical Fantasy – The Crown’s Game {Review}

Posted October 1, 2016 in Reading, Review / 1 Comment

A Russian Historical Fantasy – The Crown’s Game {Review}The Crown's Game by Evelyn Skye
Series: The Crown's Game #1
Publisher: Balzer + Bray (2016)
Hardcover (399 pages)
Rating:
Reading Challenges: 2016 Royal Challenge, Read 2016

Synopsis

Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.
And so he initiates the Crown’s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill—the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the tsar’s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.
Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter—even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?
For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown’s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with—beautiful, whip-smart, imaginative—and he can’t stop thinking about her.
And when Pasha, Nikolai’s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love…or be killed himself.
As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear—the Crown’s Game is not one to lose.

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon, Book Depository

Read More

Tagged as , ,