{Review} A Court of Thorns and Roses – Beauty and the Beast and Faeries

Posted December 17, 2015 in Reading, Review / 6 Comments

{Review} A Court of Thorns and Roses – Beauty and the Beast and FaeriesA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's (2015)
eBook (416 pages)
Via: Library
Rating:
Also by this author: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire
Reading Challenges: 2015 Fairytale Retelling, Read 2015

Synopsis

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon, Book Depository

My Review

I wanted to read this book since I first heard it was coming out. I finally borrowed it from the library and am so very glad that I did.

This is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast and so you kind of know where the plot is going to go. Feyre kills a wolf which is the equivalent of Beauty’s father stealing a rose in the original tale.

Then the beast, in this case Tamlin, comes to take Feyre away as payment for the death of the wolf who was really his friend. Feyre is spirited away to Prythian to live on Tamlin’s estate.

Remembering the original tale, there has to be some sort of curse on the beast, Tamlin, that no one can tell the girl, Feyre, about. Most of the novel, at least the first almost two-thirds, revolves around Feyre trying to figure everything out.

The first seventy or so percent of the novel is kind of slow. Feyre kills a wolf. Feyre is taken away to Prythian by a beast. Feyre is to live on Tamlin’s estate. Feyre meets Lucien, Tamlin’s emissary.

I much preferred the last abut thirty percent of the novel. That is where we really see what the faeries are capable of doing and all of the horrible things hinted at throughout the book.

Honestly, I didn’t really like Tamlin a lot. I much preferred Lucien who was always honest with Feyre. To me, he seemed much more interesting than Tamlin.

I loved the brutal faeries even though I did think there could be a bit more magic. I really enjoyed this book and cannot wait until the sequel comes out. I will definitely be reading it.


Which Reading Challenges?

  • You Read How Many Books? Reading Challenge
  • Fairytale Retelling Reading Challenge

amanda

 

Tagged as , , , , ,

6 responses to “{Review} A Court of Thorns and Roses – Beauty and the Beast and Faeries

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed this one. I’ve had my eye on A Court of Thorns and Roses, but I want to get to the books I already have by Maas before I pick up anymore.

    • I wasn’t going to read this one right away, but my library hold came in faster than I expected so, of course, I just had to read it.
      I hope you enjoy it when you get to it.
      Thanks for visiting. I hope you have a great weekend!

    • Thanks. I feel like everyone loved Tamlin and I… didn’t. Hopefully, you will get to this one soon. It is a great book.
      Thanks for visiting. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

  2. I see a lot of people going back and forth between the male characters and who they like. I guess that’s really depending on what you look for. I quite liked Tamlin, but I’m also a big fan of Lucien 🙂 I can’t wait for the sequel and to see more brutality from all the fey!

Leave a Reply

display your most recent blog post