{Review} Snow Like Ashes – Where the Seasons are Kingdoms!

Posted November 27, 2015 in Reading, Review / 0 Comments

{Review} Snow Like Ashes – Where the Seasons are Kingdoms!Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch
Series: Snow Like Ashes #1
Publisher: Balzer + Bray (2014)
Paperback (416 pages)
Via: Library
Also by this author: Ice Like Fire
Also in this series: Ice Like Fire
Reading Challenges: Read 2015


A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making.
Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.
Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.
So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon, Book Depository

My Review

I have been hearing so much about this book and the sequel, Ice Like Fire, that I decided to pick it up at the library. I am soooooooo glad that I did.

The story follows, Meira, a Winterian refugee who was one of the few that escaped the King of Spring’s attack. Meira is an orphan and has been raised by William. Meira has called him “Sir” since the time she made the mistake of calling him father.

I liked the fiercely headstrong Meira we got to know as the book progressed. She is certainly no girl content to let her life be dictated by the men. Instead she goes after what she wants and finds a way to do whatever she sets her mind to. She has so much spunk.

Among the other refugees is Mather, the son of the last Queen of Winter. He is the reason that the Winterian refugees keep fighting. They believe that someday they will be able to free the imprisoned Winterians and return to their own country. Until then, the refugees live on the outskirts of civilization.

The setting of the story is awesome. There are eight countries. Four of them are called the Seasons. The Seasons are each influenced in a different way by the magic that lies in a chasm under the mountains to the south. The other four countries are called the Rhythm Kingdoms. I have always thought that a setting where the seasons are perpetual in different areas would be amazing and that is what this book gives us. Sadly, we don’t seen enough of the Seasons. 🙁

I really enjoyed this read even though I called the ending by the time I got to the second chapter. It was just a gut feeling that I had and it turned out to be right. That won’t stop me from reading the next novel in the series and didn’t bother me too much since it is the way the ending came about that was exciting.

Which Reading Challenges?

  • You Read How Many Books? Reading Challenge



Tagged as , , ,