Tag: Read 2017

Biblical Fiction from the Time of the Prophets – Isaiah’s Daughter {Review}

Posted December 26, 2017 in Reading, Review / 0 Comments

Biblical Fiction from the Time of the Prophets – Isaiah’s Daughter {Review}Isaiah's Daughter by Mesu Andrews
Series: Prophets and Kings #1
Publisher: WaterBrook Press (January 2018)
Paperback ARC (384 pages)
Via: Blogging for Books
Rating:
Also by this author: The Pharaoh's Daughter, Miriam

Synopsis

In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bible miniseries, a young woman taken into the prophet Isaiah's household rises to capture the heart of the future king.
Isaiah adopts Ishma, giving her a new name--Zibah, delight of the Lord--thereby ensuring her royal pedigree. Ishma came to the prophet's home, devastated after watching her family destroyed and living as a captive. But as the years pass, Zibah's lively spirit wins Prince Hezekiah's favor, a boy determined to rebuild the kingdom his father has nearly destroyed. But loving this man will awake in her all the fears and pain of her past and she must turn to the only One who can give life, calm her fears, and deliver a nation.

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon, Book Depository

Read More

Tagged as , ,

Mother Teresa and the Works of Mercy – A Call to Mercy {Review}

Posted October 25, 2017 in Faith, Review / 0 Comments

Mother Teresa and the Works of Mercy – A Call to Mercy {Review}A Call to Mercy by Mother Teresa
Publisher: Image (2016)
Hardcover (384 pages)
Via: Blogging for Books
Rating:

Synopsis

Published to coincide with Pope Francis's Year of Mercy and the Vatican's canonization of Mother Teresa, this new book of unpublished material by a humble yet remarkable woman of faith whose influence is felt as deeply today as it was when she was alive, offers Mother Teresa’s profound yet accessible wisdom on how we can show mercy and compassion in our day-to-day lives.
For millions of people from all walks of life, Mother Teresa's canonization is providentially taking place during Pope Francis's Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy. This is entirely fitting since she is seen both inside and outside of the Church as an icon of God's mercy to those in need.
Compiled and edited by Brian Kolodiejckuk, M.C., the postulator of Mother Teresa’s cause for sainthood, A Call to Mercy presents deep yet accessible wisdom on how we can show compassion in our everyday lives. In her own words, Mother Teresa discusses such topics
as:
the need for us to visit the sick and the imprisoned
the importance of honoring the dead and informing the ignorant
the necessity to bear our burdens patiently and forgive willingly
the purpose to feed the poor and pray for all
the greatness of creating a “civilization of love” through personal service to others
Featuring never before published testimonials by people close to Mother Teresa as well as prayers and suggestions for putting these ideas into practice, A Call to Mercy is not only a lovely keepsake, but a living testament to the teachings of a saint whose ideas are important, relevant and very necessary in the 21st century.

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon

Read More

Tagged as ,