Biblical Fiction from the Time of the Prophets – Isaiah’s Daughter {Review}

Posted December 26, 2017 in Reading, Review / 0 Comments

Biblical Fiction from the Time of the Prophets – Isaiah’s Daughter {Review}Isaiah's Daughter by Mesu Andrews
Series: Prophets and Kings #1
Publisher: WaterBrook Press (January 2018)
Paperback ARC (384 pages)
Via: Blogging for Books
Rating:
Also by this author: The Pharaoh's Daughter, Miriam

Synopsis

In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bible miniseries, a young woman taken into the prophet Isaiah's household rises to capture the heart of the future king.
Isaiah adopts Ishma, giving her a new name--Zibah, delight of the Lord--thereby ensuring her royal pedigree. Ishma came to the prophet's home, devastated after watching her family destroyed and living as a captive. But as the years pass, Zibah's lively spirit wins Prince Hezekiah's favor, a boy determined to rebuild the kingdom his father has nearly destroyed. But loving this man will awake in her all the fears and pain of her past and she must turn to the only One who can give life, calm her fears, and deliver a nation.

Find the book: Goodreads, Amazon, Book Depository

My Review

I was shocked by how much I enjoyed this novel. I have read other books by Mesu Andrews before (The Pharaoh’s Daughter and Miriam) and expected to like this novel as well. I did not expect to love it as much as I did.

Isaiah’s Daughter tells the story of Ishma who ends up becoming adopted by the prophet Isaiah and renamed Hephzibah. She then becomes the wife and queen of Israel’s King Hezekiah. I have read the biblical account of Hezekiah and Hephzibah before but biblical account does not give you many details. Mesu Andrews brilliantly fills in the gaps of the biblical account with the fictional story of Ishma.

Throughout the novel, I really felt myself drawn into the story of Ishma. Though I knew from the biblical account how the story would end, the way in which Mesu Andrews got to that ending was a wonderful adventure.

To be completely honest, this novel did not read like a biblical fiction novel. Instead, it read as a historical fiction novel complete with lots of details to really get you into the story. If you have never tried biblical fiction before and yet enjoy a good historical fiction, you should give Isaiah’s Daughter a try.

amanda

I received this book for free from the publisher via Blogging for Books for
review consideration. This in no way affects my opinion of the title
nor the content of this review.

If you have never read biblical fiction before, what would encourage you to pick up a biblical fiction novel?

Tagged as , ,

Leave a Reply

display your most recent blog post